Scroll to Top

140+ Larry Nassar Sexual Abuse Survivors Unite at the Espys, Full List of Winners & More

By JaVonni Brustow / Published on Thursday, 19 Jul 2018 09:58 AM / No Comments
Photo Credit: TMZ

The 2018 Espy Awards were last night which is the Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly for those who don’t know what they are. (They’ve been around for 25 years for Christ’s sake.) Held at the Microsoft Theater in L.A. they were hosted by race car driver Danica Patrick. The New York Post described her opening monologue as cringe-worthy citing many of her jokes as falling pretty flat. One Twitter user said “Just like her racing career, Danica Patrick’s jokes are crashing and burning. #ESPYS”. Ouch. We might suggest getting an actual experienced host, or comedian in the future. They had Samuel L. Jackson before. Someone along his calibar is what I’m talking about.

The most eye opening moment was the appearance made by the 141 sexual abuse victims of Larry Nassar, the disgraced convicted serial molester that was the US Gymnastics national team doctor at Michigan State University. They all came on stage to a round of applause to receive Arthur Ashe Courage Awards. Jennifer Lawrence described them as “an army that has come here tonight to be heard.” The moment could easily be described as one of the mai highlights of the #MeToo movement. Nassar’s being sentenced to 175 years in prison.


A touching moment came in the form of NFL legend and Hall of Famer Jim Kelly who spoke about never giving up. He embodies that very sentiment as he had a record setting 11 season career wit hthe Buffalo Bills annd since has been diagnoses with skin cancer in his jaw 5 years ago. Just this March he had a 12 hour surgery that left him in the ICU for an entire week so to see him standing before everyone tellign the world to hang in there was absolutely amazing and the type of encouragement we all could use.

Full List of Winners:

READ  Claudia Jordan Responds to Nene Leakes Calling Her Thirsty

Best Breakthrough Athlete: Donovan Mitchell

Best College Athlete: Baker Mayfield

Best Female Athlete: Chloe Kim

Best Male Athlete: Alex Ovechkin

Best Team: Houston Astros

Best Game: The U.S. women’s national hockey team’s shootout victory over Canada at the 2018 Winter Olympics.
Best Championship Performance: Nick Foles

Best Moment: Stefon Diggs’ touchdown for The Minnesota Vikings against the New Orleans Saints.

Best Olympic Moment: Shaun White’s gold medal-winning final run in Pyeongchang.

Best Play: Arike Ogunbowale’s buzzer-beater to win the national championship for Notre Dame.

Best Record-Breaking Performance: Roger Federer winning an eighth Wimbledon title in 2017 and the 2018 Australian Open for his 20th Grand Slam title.

Best International Men’s Soccer Player: Cristiano Ronaldo

Best International Women’s Soccer Player: Sam Kerr

Samantha Kerr | Photo Credit: Getty Images

Best NFL Player: Tom Brady

Best MLB player: Mike Trout

Best NHL Player: Alex Ovechkin

Best Driver: Martin Truex Jr.

Best NBA Player: LeBron James

Best WNBA Player: Maya Moore

Best Fighter: Terence Crawford

Best Male Golfer: Jordan Spieth

Best Female Golfer: Sung-Hyun Park

Best Male Olympian: Shaun White

Best Female Olympian: Chloe Kim

Best Male Tennis Player: Roger Federer

Best Female Tennis Player: Sloane Stephens

Best Male Action Sports Athlete: David Wise

Best Female Action Sports Athlete: Chloe Kim

Best Jockey: Jose Ortiz

Best Male Athlete with a Disability: Mike Schultz

Best Female Athlete with a Disability: Brenna Huckaby

Best Bowler: Rhino Page Best MLS Player: Nemanja Nikolic

Best NWSL Player: Megan Rapinoe

Capital One Cup: Stanford Cardinal sports

Jimmy V Award for Perseverance: Jim Kelly for battling cancer for five years.
Pat Tillman Award for Service: Sgt. Jake Wood of the U.S. Marines
Best Coach: Aaron Feis, Scott Beigel and Chris Hixon, killed protecting students in the mass shooting at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Florida.
Arthur Ashe Award for Courage: The ‘sister survivors’ who spoke out against the sexual abuses of Larry Nassar.

About JaVonni Brustow

Urban Conservative, Principal at VM3 Media, Co-Editor-in-Chief of and, Javonni Brustow is a Communications and Media Consultant in Washington, DC with a decade of experience as a seasoned concert producer, marketing expert and brand management expert with multiple news publications. He can be heard LIVE Sundays at 3pm on Popglitz Radio and is a regular on the 'Did She Say That' Breitbart Radio Show with Sonnie Johnson. Inquiries: [email protected]